China, 14 other Asia-Pacific countries sign world's largest free trade deal

Fifteen countries signed up to the Regional Comprehensive Economic Partnership at the annual summit of the Association of Southeast Asian Nations (Asean) on Sunday November 15.

The Regional Comprehensive Economic Partnership (RCEP) is made up of 10 members of Asean plus Australia, China, Japan, New Zealand and South Korea. Together, the participating nations account for about 30% of global gross domestic product as well as being home to one-third of the global population.
The Asean members involved are Brunei, Cambodia, Indonesia, Laos, Malaysia, Myanmar, the Philippines, Singapore, Thailand and Vietnam.

The RCEP agreement was signed on Sunday on the sidelines of an...


Cristina Belda

November 16, 2020

19:18 GMT